Accept Life As It Is


Myong Hae Sunim JPDS’s sudden passing was a great shock to our global sangha.

Zen Master Su Bong and Myong Hae Sunim JPDS both gave us great teachings of Impermanence. When “it” knocks on the door, nobody can escape it. This is the greatest teaching they gave us, so we have to treasure what we have and sincerely make the best use of our life.

Though their physical bodies are no longer with us, both teachers are always in our hearts. In fact, they are closer to us now than when they were alive. They continue to support us from a different dimension. I really don’t worry about Myong Hae Sunim anymore.

When I heard the news, inside I felt very calm and knew what to do. In fact, I could feel from my lower belly her joy of completing her job in this lifetime. She tried so hard, never gave up and left with no regrets.

As a teacher, she taught students this primary point thousands of time. Every time it was also a rehearsal for her to return to before thinking, so no life no death.

When our time comes, it is the best time to attain this point. Myong Hae Sunim completely attained this point then let go. She attained the "Hyang Eom's Up a Tree" kong-an. So I don’t feel sad for her. A few of us could feel her joy even though everyone misses her so much. She is finally free from her body and karma from this lifetime. Next life she will get a more high class vehicle to come back to this world and again practice, again become a teacher and continue to fulfil her Bodhisattva vow.

We might have lost someone very dear, someone whom we could trust and who was helpful to everyone. But we have to accept the truth that her life span was short and welcome everything as it is.

Myong Hae Sunim JDPS’s greatest teaching to us was her bright smile and strong try mind.

接受生命如是


明海指導法師突然往生,震驚了我們全球各地的僧團。

秀峰禪師和明海指導法師都給我們示範了無常的教法,為我們上了很重要的一課。當「它」敲門時,無人能夠逃脫。這是導師們給予我們最重要的教導。因此,我們要珍惜我們現在所擁有的,並真誠地善用我們的生命。

雖然他們的色身已離開了我們,但他們的教導永遠留在我們心中。事實上,相較仍在生時,他們現在更加接近我們。他們在一個不同的維度繼續支持著我們。我真的不用再擔心明海法師了。

當我聽到她往生的消息時,我內心感到平靜,亦明白我要做什麼。從我的小腹,我能夠感受到她的喜悅,她已圓滿此生了。她此生一直努力不懈,縱然離去,亦沒有遺憾。

作為一位導師,她已千遍、萬遍地教導學生「元點」。而每一次當她教導元點時,她亦是在彩排返回思維之前,即是不生亦不滅。

當那一刻到來時,是我們去證入這一點的最好時機。明海法師完全證入了這一點,然後便放下。她證入了香嚴上樹的公案。因此我不會為她感到傷心。我們一些同修也能夠感受到她的喜悅,雖然大家都很想念她。她終於脫離了此生的色身和業身。下一生,她將會得到一輛更高級的車,乘願再來,繼續修行,再次成為一位導師,繼續去圓滿她的菩薩行。

我們失去了一位很親近、一位我們能信任和時刻都在幫助別人的人。但我們要去接受她的生命短暫這個事實,並欣然接受一切就是如是。

明海指導法師給我們最大的教導,是她為大眾的慈悲,活潑的笑容和堅定的嘗試的心。讓這教導成為你的修持;如此,明海法師從不曾離開我們!