Where is Myong Hae Sunim Now?


Zen Master Dae Kwan
Aug 4, 2020

The worldwide sangha was shocked when we heard that Myong Hae Sunim died in a car accident.

I talked to her mother and she told me Myong Hae Sunim was on the way home after she led some retreats in Lithuania. She was supposed to join us on Zoom for our Lotus Lantern Completion Ceremony, but she didn’t show up online. Later in the afternoon I received a message about her death and missed a phone call. I told the sunims about it, but they said don’t believe it because there is so much fake news and phone calls nowadays. Within a second, the phone rang again. I answered it, and one of the students told me the news. When I heard the news, inside was very calm. I thanked the student for the message and said we would chant for Myong Hae Sunim immediately. At the same time, I shared the news with everyone and invited everyone to chant together and send our dedication to her.

Many students are also worried about me. Will I be sad to lose a very good student and a teacher in our sangha? Of course it is a great loss to the school. But do you realize that Myong Hae Sunim is giving us the best and the greatest Dharma talk to the whole world? In front of impermanence, everyone is equal. No one can escape impermanence, not even Buddha himself.

If you ask me how I feel, Myong Hae Sunim never left us. She is now completely and deeply attaining the joy of freedom from life and death. She used her own life to expound the greatest and awakening teaching, which will stay with us forever. Time will not wait for us, so don’t waste your time and energy on trivial issues. Don’t misuse your energy for many things that stem from desire, anger and ignorance. Even if you get them, you cannot keep them.

Where is Myong Hae Sunim now?
In Gak Su Temple, the sky is blue.
White clouds are floating.
Birds are singing chip chip.
The sound of the stream is sa sa.

明海法師在哪裏?


大觀禪師
二零二零年八月四日

聽到明海法師在一宗交通意外中往生的消息,世界各地的僧團都感到震驚。

我跟明海師的媽媽通電話,她告訴我,當時明海師剛剛在立陶宛帶領完禪修,正在回家的途中。她本應參與禪院在ZOOM舉行的蓮花燈完滿日開示,但她並沒有上線。當天下午,我收到她往生的訊息和一個未接來電。我將訊息告訴了法師們,他們都說不相信,因為現時經常有假訊息和電話。下一刻,我的電話再次響起。我接了來電,一位學生把消息告訴我。當我聽到消息時,內心非常平靜。我感謝這位向我們傳遞訊息的學生,並告訴他我們會立刻準備為明海師念誦。同一時間,我們向大眾公佈這消息,並邀請大眾一起念誦和迴向給明海師。

很多學生都很關心我。失去了一位非常出色的學生和僧團的一位導師,我會悲傷嗎?當然,這對禪院是巨大的損失。但你明白到明海師正在給我們一場世上最好和最大的開示嗎?在無常的面前,眾生皆平等。無人能夠逃避無常,即使是佛陀也不能。

若問我的感受,明海法師從未離開我們。現在,她完滿地和深深地證入了生脫死的喜悅自在。她用自己的生命去教授這個最大的、覺醒的教法,而這個教法會永遠和我們待在一起。時間不會等待我們,不要浪費你的時間和精力於瑣碎的事情上。不要誤用你的精力於那些由慾望、憤怒和無明而生起的事情上。即使你得到,你也無法保存。

明海法師在哪裏?
於覺修寺,天空是藍的。
白雲在漂浮。
小鳥叫吱吱,
流水聲潺潺。